Posted by: laurisof | October 14, 2009

Pho!rget it. It’s not made for me.

I was quite excited about October’s Daring Cooks challenge. Unfortunately in my case it was more something to “phorget” than something “phontastic”.

hola

I had a really good time finding the ingredients, and making the soup, but with all the excitement of trying something exotic and new, I kind of forgot that I’m not a soup person. Even so I think that not all the blame is on me and my tastes. I was kind of biased because other bloggers who made this challenge did say it was wonderful (I had never tried pho before). All in all my idea of the pho was very different from the result. It was supposed to be full of flavour if you did all the right things (toast the spices, char the onion and ginger, and boil a whole chicken for 1 1/2 hours to make the broth – if you followed the long recipe), which I did, but to me the flavours were not that overwhelming.

pho

In favour of the challenge: the pho looked beautiful and my mum did like it!

Here is the recipe for any pho lovers out there (other people’s references to the recipe are very good).

pho

The October 2009 Daring Cooks’ challenge was brought to us by Jaden of the blog Steamy Kitchen. The recipes are from her new cookbook, The Steamy Kitchen Cookbook.

Responses

  1. So sorry to hear you were disappointed! I personally don’t eat Chicken Pho at all as it’s such a simple and slightly bland version.

    Maybe you should have a go at the beef pho? The flavours are a lot more aromatic and punchy. I absolutely adore beef pho over chicken anyday! Great job still…

  2. Thank you for trying the recipe!

  3. I’m sorry you didn’t love it – The photos look great!

  4. Even though you didn’t like it..I have to say, it turned out aesthtically beautiful and your PHOtos are fantastic! Great job all around :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

