Posted by: laurisof | February 15, 2010

Pita, Hummus, ‘Falafel’

This month’s daring cooks challenge wasn’t completely new for me. I had made hummus in the past and loved it. The challenge recipe was even better than the one I used before! The pita bread was actually very good. Mine aren’t as perfect looking because I really didn’t bother making them into a round shape. I guess they look more home-made that way.

The falafels were my great failure. I’ve never tasted falafel before, so I have nothing to compare them to, but I’m sure they’re not meant to turn out the way mine did. They were like bread biscuits with a spicy flavor, you could barely eat one on it’s own. They looked as they should be opened up and spread with butter. I really don’t know where I went wrong either so I think I won’t be making those again.

Pita bread, strange falafels and hummus (clockwise from bottom)

My own mezze (olives, tomato, hummus, falafels, pita)

You can find the recipe at the daring kitchen recipe archive.

The 2010 February Daring COOKs challenge was hosted by Micheleof Veggie Num Nums. Michele chose to challenge everyone to make mezze based on various recipes from Claudia Roden, Jeffrey Alford and Naomi Dugid.


Responses

  1. My pita wasn’t perfect looking either but I have long given up on perfection! LOL The taste was amazing though.

    I didn’t try making the falafels – I think I’m glad. *smile*

  2. Your pita bread looks really nice! I also made and ate falafel for the first time and didn’t know what to expect, but I am totally hooked now to falafels. They were soooo good dipped into raita!!! I’ll have some leftover falafels, pita bread and muhammara for lunch tomorrow – yippie ;-).

  3. Initially, I was only going to do falafel, hummus nd pita and all the fixins’ (veggies and sauce to roll it up with), but ended up adding a few things here and there. Your pita looks so tasty, as does your hummus and falafel. Nicely done!


Leave a comment

Categories