Posted by: laurisof | November 14, 2009

SUSHI!

This month’s daring cooks challenge has been very exciting for me. Since the first time I tried sushi I knew it had become one of my favorite foods. Even so, I had never made sushi before. I thought it was going to be tedious and very very time consuming. I was wrong. If you plan ahead of time exactly which ingredients you’re going to use and organize yourself well, it doesn’t take more than two hours to have perfect homemade sushi. The most important thing I’ve learned with this challenge is that my knives aren’t really good, you really do need a very sharp knife to get good sushi. The recipe for the sushi rice was perfect. I had problems because I took word by word the instruction of turning the heat down to the lowest setting (that was not enough to cook the rice so after the steaming the result was undercooked rice). Overall I am very happy with the results. I still can’t believe I’ve actually made sushi!

Sushi

  • Dragon Roll: prawns, avocado, fish roe.

Dragon roll

Dragon roll head

  • Spiral Roll: avocado, smoked salmon, cream cheese, parboiled carrots.

Spiral roll

  • Nigiri: marinated cod fish, cooked prawns, fresh tuna.

Nigiri

The recipe for the rice is here.

The November 2009 Daring Cooks challenge was brought to you by Audax of Audax Artifex and Rose ofThe Bite Me Kitchen. They chose sushi as the challenge.

Responses

  1. Wow your dragon roll looks so cute and fearsome at the same time love those legs. And your nigiri looks so shiny and luscious. Well done and good to hear that the rice worked out so well for you. Cheers from Audax in Australia.


Leave a Reply

Categories

