Posted by: laurisof | December 14, 2009

En croute…

This month’s Daring Cooks Challenge was one of my favorites. I learned a new way to prepare salmon and a new technique (the shortcrust pastry). Next time I’ll make sure I roll my dough thinner and I think I’ll think of another way to wrap the salmon so I don’t get layer upon layer of undercooked dough. Another mistake I made is my cuts in the dough were too long and deep, making the package to open up and the vegetable mixture to get dry.

salmon en croute

leaf detail

Leaving aside some of the problems I encountered the result was very good. The vegetable/cheese mixture was really good and…

watercress, rocket, spinach and mascarpone mixture

… the salmon was perfectly cooked.

perfectly cooked salmon

I would recommend to season your salmon and vegetable mixture well since it wasn’t stated in the recipe and I had to add salt while eating the salmon. Don’t be afraid since it is a thick piece of salmon you’re dealing with.

I had some shotcrust pastry left over so I made some apple galettes. Soooo gooood. Will be posted up soon!

Here is the recipe in pdf format: salmon en croute pdf

The 2009 Daring Cooks challenge was hosted by Simone of Junglefrog Cooking. Simone chose Salmon en Croute (or alternative recipes for Beef Wellington or Vegetable en Croute) from Good Food Online.

Responses

  1. Your salmon en croute looks yummy πŸ™‚ I should’ve saved my scraps also, so smart of you to think of making apple galettes!

  2. Looks delicious and your salmon looks perfectly cooked!

  3. I just adore thee colors. this looks delicious.

  4. Mmm you’re making me hungry! The salmon looks perfectly cooked and I love the colors. Well done on this challenge!

  5. I think it looks great! Nice job on the challenge!

  6. I’m glad to hear that you liked the challenge and hmm, yes those slashes are a bit on the large side… πŸ™‚ Your salmon looks perfect!

  7. Beautiful plating and colors! Have a wonderful holiday season.

  8. As a fellow large slasher, I think your end result looks lovely with the littler hearts.

  9. Nice work with the challenge. Especially like the last photo you posted. Looks like it turned out rather nicely πŸ™‚

  10. So jealous because I overcooked my salmon – great job!

  11. Your sauce is so pretty!
    I used leaf shapes too, but your heart cut out is cute!

  12. Great job with your salmon en croute! πŸ™‚

  13. Oh my god, your photos are so lovely that I can see every detail of your beautiful salmon en croute, and my mouth is watering!! Beautifully done all around!


Leave a Reply

Categories

