Posted by: laurisof | January 14, 2010

Sataaay

This challenge was great for a quick meal. It was flavorful, exotic and normal enough for my dad to like it! At first I was unsure whether  I would like the sauces, especially the peanut one, or not. I was surprised to find that peanut and coconut go well with spicy chicken. And the tamarind and pepper sauces were a great alternative for those not fond of peanut butter.

So colorful, chicken satay

The chicken turned out a bit dry, especially the smaller pieces. I think this might’ve been the result of my no-control-of-temperature oven. To achieve the charred effect I had to keep the chicken in the oven for about 30 minutes. I’m sure the result would be perfect if it had been done on a grill/barbecue. The sauces turned out to be essential instead of an extra.

Surprisingly good peanut sauce

The peanut sauce was really good and it combined perfectly with the chicken and on top of the basmati rice I made to go along with it.

The sauces (clockwise from top: peanut sauce, tamarind sauce, pepper sauce)

You can find the recipe at the daring kitchen recipe archive.

The January 2010 DC challenge was hosted by Cuppy of Cuppyliciousand she chose a delicious Thai-inspired recipe for Pork Satay from the book 1000 Recipes by Martha Day.

Responses

  1. congratulations on your challenge, those sauces look amazing!

  2. “It was flavorful, exotic and normal enough for my dad to like it! ”

    That was definitely one of my goals! 😉

    Your chicken skewers look so perfect, I’m sorry they were dry!

  3. Beautiful looking Satays.

    If I don’t have the time to heat the BBQ I often chuck these under the grill in the oven, like you would for grilled cheese. It usually takes about 10 minutes each side, and they stay nice and moist.

    Also use cheep cuts like thigh, not as pretty but tastier.

    Your sauces look great.

    Congratulations on a successful challenge.

  4. Love your pixs and the Peanut Butter sauce looks so smooth and rich. 30 mins under the griller wow… mine only took 12 mins and they were charred!!!! Yes maybe bigger pieces might help next time. Cheers from Sydney Australia.

  5. Wow! love how you made all of the sauces. The satay looks gurrrrrrrrrreat!

  6. How great that you made all the sauces, I only had time/energy to do the peanut one. Your satay looks great, very nice photos! Well done!


Leave a Reply

Categories

