Posted by: laurisof | March 1, 2010

Tiramisu, it’ll make you faint!

This is the first part of my post for the Daring Baker’s February challenge. I still haven’t tasted my assembled tiramisu, but I did taste each and every one of the parts it’s made of.

The mascarpone was a huge success. I wasn’t really sure about it because I didn’t use a stainless steel bowl, I didn’t manage to get any small bubbles, it was really runny when I put it in the fridge and it didn’t drain at all. Even so, it turned out to be a very creamy mascarpone.

The pastry cream was one of the best I’ve ever tasted. I’m used to making pastry cream using cornstarch, but this way it was easier, lumpless and tasted sooooo much better (not so floury).

The savoiardi biscuits were a great hit. I made them in just under half an hour and they came out perfect, so much better than the store bought ones.

I made three individual tiramisu’s by halving the recipe, but could only manage to do two layers with the cream mixture I obtained. They’re still in the fridge, waiting to be eaten soon enough. I’ll be posting a photo of the unmolded tiramisu shortly. Meanwhile…

Tiramisu essentials (clockwise from right: mascarpone, pastry cream, zabaglione, whipped cream)

Assembled tiramisu

The final product

mmmmmm!

The February 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Aparna of My Diverse Kitchen and Deeba of Passionate About Baking. They chose Tiramisu as the challenge for the month. Their challenge recipe is based on recipes from The Washington Post, Cordon Bleu at Home and Baking Obsession.

You can find the recipe at the Daring Kitchen recipe archive.

Responses

  1. Lauri, I’m glad you had so much fun making and tasting (and enjoying) each component. Can’t wait to hear how the final thing tasted! Thank you for doing the challenge with so much enthusiasm!


Leave a Reply

Categories

